Curriculum and Instruction

International Advisory Committee

In order to ensure that there would be a balanced curriculum and a historically accurate account of the famine, the State Education Department named an International Advisory Committee comprised of the most respected scholars in the field, both here and in Ireland, representing the wide range of views and perspectives on the topic. The Committee was chaired by Dr. Margaret MacCurtain, one of Ireland's most respected scholars and an acclaimed author in the area of Irish history. Dr. MacCurtain is Chair of both the Board of the National Archives of Ireland and the Friends of the National Library, as well as frequent media commentator on current events and history.

The other distinguished members of the Committee include:

Joe Lee
Professor of History
National University of Ireland at Cork
History Department
Cork, Ireland

Margaret Kelleher
Professor of History
National Universtiy of Ireland at Maynooth
History Department
Maynooth, Ireland

Kevin O'Neill
Professor of History
Boston College
Irish Studies, Connolly House
Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts 024673806 USA

Cormac O'Grada
Professor of Economics
University College Dublin
D221 John Henry Newman Bldg.
Belfield, Dublin 4 Ireland

Robert Scally
Academic Director
Glucksman Ireland House
New York University, One Washington Mews
New York, New York 100036691 USA

Kerby Miller
Professor of History
University of Missouri - Columbia
101 Read Hall
Columbia, Missouri 65211 USA

Peter Quinn
Head Speechwriter
Time Warner Inc.
75 Rrockefeller Plaza
New York, New York 10019 USA

John McEneny
Member of the Assembly
New York State Legislature
Room 648 LOB
Albany, New York 12248 USA

Mary E. Daly
Professor of History
University College Dublin
12 Belgrave Square
Monkstown, County Dublin Ireland

Noel Kissane
Keeper of Manuscripts
National Library of Ireland
Kildare Street
Dublin 2, Ireland

James Donnelly
Professor of History
History Dept., Universtiy of Wisconsin-Madison
455 N. Park Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53706

Margaret MacCurtain
N.A.A.C Chairperson
52 Newtownpark Avenue
Blackrock, County Dublin Ireland

Maureen Murphy
Professor of Curriculum and Teaching
Hofstra University
Dept of Curric. and Teaching, 243 Gallon Wing
Hempstead, NY 115491280 USA

Mary C. Daley
Executive Director
New York State Summer Institutes
Room 866 EBA, State Education Dept.
Albany, NY 12208 USA

Last Updated: September 3, 2009