Curriculum and Instruction

New York State Essential Elements: Schools-to-Watch Program

Promoting Excellence in Middle Level Programming for our State’s Young Adolescents

New York State is a member of the National Forum to Accelerate Middle Grades Reform, National Schools-to-Watch Program. New York recognized that the criteria outlined by the National Forum closely aligned with the Department’s Seven Essential Elements of Standards-Focused Middle Level Schools and Programs and the Regents Policy Statement on Middle Level Education.  The program, adopted in 2004, and entitled the Essential Elements: Schools-to-Watch Program (EE:STW) focuses on school improvement and recognition.  EE:STW recognizes schools that demonstrate continuous improvement and excel in the following four domains; academic excellence, developmental responsiveness, social equity, and organizational structure. The program is non competitive and is designed to promote and guide the school improvement process as well as highlight characteristics of high performing schools with middle grades. EE:STW is a vehicle for school reform in as much as it is tenable for any school to use the tools and application kit to guide their school improvement efforts and eventually apply for recognition when they have demonstrated evidence that they are on a trajectory for improvement in these critical domain areas. The State Education Department in partnership with the NY State Middle School Association, New York State Middle Level Liaisons and the NYS United Teachers, as well as other academic associations across the State continue to seek applications. For more information on the National Schools to Watch Program, visit www.schoolstowatch.org external link icon.

Congratulations to the 2015 Schools-to-Watch Designees

    A.A. Kingston Middle School
    Ballston Spa Middle School
    Barker Rd. Middle School
    Calkins Rd. Middle School
    Farnsworth Middle School
    Glens Falls Middle School
    Indian Lake Central School
    Jericho Middle School
    Longwood Junior High School
    Martha Brown Middle School
    Moravia Middle School
    Oceanside Middle School
    Oliver Winch Middle School
    Sayville Middle School
    South Orangetown Middle School
    Twelve Corners Middle School
    Van Wyck Junior High School
    Victor Junior High School

For a complete list of active EESTWs

Applications and Information

Last Updated: March 11, 2015