Curriculum and Instruction

Congratulations: 2016 Essential Elements - Schools-to-Watch

Congratulations: 2016 Essential Elements: Schools to Watch
The New York State Department of Education in partnership with the New York State Middle School Association, and the Statewide Network of Middle Level Liaisons announces the 11th cohort of exemplary schools serving middle grades students. The Essential Elements Schools to Watch program is a state administered national program that seeks to identify middle grades schools that adhere to a rigorous set of criteria and are on a pathway of continuous improvement. Each school earning the designation holds that honor for 3 years then must reapply and be reevaluated to continue the honor of calling itself a School to Watch. New York is proud designate seven schools; one new school, two schools which were designated for the first time in 2013, three schools which were first designated in 2010 and one school originally designated 9 years ago in 2007.  All of these remarkable middle schools are dedicated to the young adolescents they serve, and maintain a commitment to remain on a trajectory of improvement while implementing the Regents Policy on Middle Level Education, and the seven Essential Elements of a Standards Focused Middle School.

2016 Newly Identified Essential Elements: Schools to Watch
North Shore Middle School
Marc Ferris, Principal
Glen Head, NY 

2016 Schools Re-Designated for the First Time
(Originally Designated in 2013)
Honeoye Falls-Lima Middle School                           Johanna Perrin Middle School
Shawn Williams, Principal                                             Kevin Henchen, Principal
Honeoye Falls, NY                                                        Fairport, NY     


2016 Schools Re-Designated for the Second Time
(Originally Designated in 2010)
Lakeland Copper Beech Middle School                   Merton Williams Middle School        
Robert Bergmann, Principal                                          Tracie Czebetol, Principal
Yorktown Heights, NY                                                      Hilton, NY

Bay Trail Middle School
Winton Buddington, Principal
Penfield, NY

2016 School Re-Designated for the Third Time
(Originally Designated in 2007)
North Salem Middle School
Patricia Cyganovich, Principal
North Salem, NY

For more information on the Essential Elements Schools-to-Watch Program at both the State and National Level, visit:

Last Updated: March 10, 2016