Curriculum and Instruction

Social Studies

Social Studies

New York State has five specific content areas for standards:

  • History of the United States and New York
  • World History
  • Geography
  • Economics
  • Civics, Citizenship, and Government

Latest Social Studies Information

At the January 2015 meeting, the Board of Regents approved regulation changes to social studies instruction and assessment. See: New York State K-12 Social Studies Framework Implementation, Course Requirements and Assessment Changes .PDF file icon (133 KB)

 The Board of Regents at the April 29, 2014 meeting has adopted the New York State K-12 Social Studies Framework as the foundation for social studies in New York State.

Last Updated: March 3, 2015