Curriculum and Instruction

Social Studies Awards and Grants

United States Senate Youth Program

Students Headed to Washington, D. C. and to Receive $5,000 Scholarship

January 8, 2015, Washington, D.C.

Senators Charles E. Schumer and Kirsten E. Gillibrand today announced the names of the two students who have been selected as delegates to the 53rd annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) that will be held March 7 – 14, 2015 in Washington, D.C. Justin Shapiro of Merrick and Ioana Solomon of Long Island City were chosen from across the state to be part of the group of 104 student delegates who will attend the program’s 53rd annual Washington Week.

For more information regarding the United States Senate Youth winners for 2015 and the application, go to United States Senate Youth Program.

Louis E. Yavner Awards

The 2013 Louis E. Yavner Awards for promotion of understanding of the Holocaust and human rights issues were presented at the June Board of Regents meeting. Andrew Beiter, from Springville-Griffith Middle School, is the recipient of the Teacher Award. Mr. Beiter is the founder and advisor of the Human Rights Club, the director of the Summer Institute for Human Rights and Genocide Studies and the Educators’ Institute for Human Rights.

Dr. Dennis Banks, Professor at SUNY at Oneonta, is the recipient of the Citizen Award. Dr. Banks is a national leader in promoting human right education. He has written for state and national publications and has spoken widely on human rights issues. He has influenced hundreds of teachers who as seniors in the teacher preparation program participate in the annual workshop on Human Rights that Dr. Banks plans and facilitates.

For general criteria and nomination forms.

Last Updated: January 15, 2015