Career & Technical Education

About the Middle-Level CTE Instructional Modules

The curricular guidance framework for New York State middle-level CTE consists of two types of modules, theme modules and content modules. Theme and Content modules are designed to work together. The goals of middle level CTE, built on this framework are to:

  • connect middle level experiences to high school opportunities,
  • expose students to all CTE content areas,
  • allow for flexibility in delivery by using a module format, and
  • foster acceleration into graduation pathways that capitalize on students’ interests in CTE content.
CTE Theme Modules

... provide the basis for middle-level CTE. They are foundational, cross-content, and standards-based. They represent knowledge and skills that will benefit all students as they move to high school, regardless of the pathway they choose.

...are designed for instruction by teachers certified in any title in any of the six CTE content areas (i.e., Agriculture, Business and Marketing, Family and Consumer Sciences, Health Science, Technology, and Trade and Technical).

CTE Content Modules

... provide the context to engage students in the themes.

...are specific to each CTE content area, standards-based, and connect middle-level to high school. CTE teachers will use the Content Modules aligned with their certification areas to develop meaningful learning experiences that help their students attain the Theme module standards.

Schools will use this framework as they make decisions on how to personalize middle-level CTE instruction in their settings. The framework will assist schools in answering the question:

How can we design project-based learning experiences that will help our middle-school students gain foundational CTE knowledge and skills through the lens of the CTE content area(s) we have represented in our school?


Last Updated: October 10, 2018