Career & Technical Education

Driver & Traffic Safety Education

Driver & Traffic Safety Education



Recent communication’s to the field regarding Driver & Traffic Safety Education (DTSE) “program approvals” have indicated a backlog in processing. This is due to an increased number of programs that expire on a three year cycle. This year is the beginning of a new three year cycle for many of your programs.

In April, a notice was sent to DTSE administrators addressing the aforementioned backlog, along with a suggestion to submit program approval applications (DE-1 forms) on time. The DTSE Office has maintained that program approval forms (DE-1 forms) should be submitted four weeks prior to a program’s anticipated start date.

At this time we anticipate program approval forms (DE-1 forms) will be processed four weeks from the date they have been received. Forms that have been submitted which include errors or missing materials may incur additional processing time.

DTSE Guidelines Section 1, Item 1:

The New York State Education Department (NYSED) must approve all Driver and Traffic Safety Education (DTSE) courses offered by public and nonpublic secondary schools, colleges, and BOCES prior to the commencement of instruction. (See V&T law 507 item 1)


Program Description

Driver & Traffic Safety Education in New York State schools is a course implemented via a joint partnership between the New York State Education Department (NYSED), and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The Driver Education course is intended to educate students (age 16 or older) on appropriate driving skills and habits as well as playing a responsible role in the highway transportation/safety system. Course highlights include 24 hours of classroom instruction and 24 hours of behind the wheel training and observation. Students who satisfactorily complete the course are eligible to receive the MV-285: Student Certificate of Completion. The MV-285 Student Certificate of Completion allows:

  1. a NYS Junior Permit holder to schedule a road test,
  2. young drivers a possible reduction in automobile insurance cost (participation is dependent upon insurance provider participation), and
  3. a 17 year old to receive a senior license (MV-285 form must be submitted to local DMV to attain this benefit).

Last Updated: July 29, 2016