Career & Technical Education

Perkins Title II Overview

Perkins Title II funds partnerships of Local Educational Agencies (LEAs), BOCES and postsecondary education institutions for the development and operation of CTE programs consisting of at least the last two years of secondary education and at least two years of postsecondary education. Secondary level Title II programs provide technical skills education that prepares students to transition to postsecondary studies. Title II programs are also designed to:

  • strengthen curricular and other linkages between secondary and postsecondary institutions;
  • develop CTE programs of study in high-skill, high-wage, high-demand areas;
  • align school, college and community systems in these programs of study;
  • support strong academic performance;
  • promote informed and appropriate career choice and preparation;and
  • ensure that students gain the knowledge and skills needed for careers in emerging fields.

Secondary students who complete programs of study are able to receive postsecondary credit for college, and are better prepared to transition to associate or baccalaureate degree programs.

Title II programs are required to have accountability systems that are able to

  • meet the new performance reporting requirements of the law and,
  • document program impact

Title II technical preparation education can begin as early as ninth grade. Planned sequences of study in grades 9-12, 10-12 or 11-12 are closely aligned with two years of postsecondary study in a technical field, in associate degree or apprenticeship programs. All Perkins Title II funded programs are required to have seven key elements:

  1. an articulation agreement between secondary and postsecondary consortium participants;
  2. an instructional design that aligns a grade 9-12, 10-12 or 11-12 sequence of study with two years of postsecondary instructional design with a common core of proficiency in math, science, communication, and technology;
  3. a specifically developed Perkins Title II curriculum;
  4. joint in-service training of secondary and postsecondary teachers to implement the Perkins Title II curriculum effectively;
  5. training of counselors to recruit students and to ensure program completion and appropriate employment;
  6. equal access for special populations to the full range of Perkins Title II programs;and
  7. preparatory services such as recruitment, career and personal counseling, and career assessment.

Perkins Title II Regions

Capital District:

Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren and Washington counties

Central New York:

Cayuga, Cortland, Onondaga and Oswego counties

Finger Lakes:

Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates counties

Hudson Valley:

Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester counties

Long Island:

Nassau and Suffolk counties

Mohawk Valley:

Fulton, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida and Schoharie counties

North Country:

Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence counties

Southern Tier:

Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Otsego, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga and Tompkins counties

Western New York:

Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie and Niagara counties

New York City:

Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, Richmond

Last Updated: March 16, 2011