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Agencies for Certain Students with Disabilities Who Have Reached the Age of 
18 and the Requirement for Boards of Education to Have Plans and Policies 
for Appropriate Declassification of Students with Disabilities 

 
The purpose of this memorandum is to inform you that, at its September 2018 

meeting, the Board of Regents proposed regulations to conform section 200.4 of the 
Commissioner’s Regulations to Chapter 428 of the Laws of 2017 (Chapter 428).  Chapter 
428 amended New York State Education Law section 4402 relating to the aging out 
notification requirements for students needing adult residential services and the requirement 
for boards of education to develop plans and policies for appropriate declassification of 
students with disabilities.  Although the regulations are currently proposed, these changes 
have been in effect since the Governor signed Chapter 428 into law on November 29, 2017.  
A copy of the full text of the proposed regulations developed consistent with the 
requirements of Chapter 428 can be found at the Board of Regents website 
(http://www.regents.nysed.gov/common/regents/files/918p12d1.pdf).  For your reference, a 
copy of the full text of Chapter 428 is attached. 
 
Aging-Out Notification Requirements 
 
 Federal law establishes transition planning requirements for school districts, including 
the requirement that the school district invite, to the extent appropriate and with parental 
consent (or consent of a student 18 years of age or older), a representative of any 
participating agency that is likely to be responsible for providing or paying for transition 

http://www.regents.nysed.gov/common/regents/files/918p12d1.pdf
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services, which could include adult service State agency representatives, to committee on 
special education (CSE) meetings to prepare a student for transition to adult life.  Consistent 
with this requirement, to streamline the transition planning process, Chapter 428 amended 
Education Law section 4402 to eliminate and/or simplify certain requirements. 
 
 Chapter 428 amended the requirement that the CSE provide notification about adult 
services to the parents of students with disabilities who receive residential special education 
services or nonresidential special education services 100 percent of the school day, have 
intensive management needs or a severe disability, and may need adult services.  It also 
eliminated the requirement that CSEs submit an annual report to the New York State 
Education Department (NYSED) regarding the number of these students who were referred 
to State adult service agencies. Pursuant to Chapter 428, the CSE, with the consent of the 
parents (or the student if over the age of 18), is now required to notify and invite a 
representative from the Office of Mental Health, Office for People with Developmental 
Disabilities, or NYSED’s Office of Adult Career and Continuing Education Services-
Vocational Rehabilitation (ACCES-VR) to participate in the development of adult service 
recommendations not later than the first annual review prior to the eighteenth birthday of a 
student with a disability who is placed by the CSE in a: 

▪ residential program; or 
▪ day program, but the CSE has determined that the student is likely to require adult 

residential services. 
 
In addition, with the consent of the parents (or the student if over the age of 18), the CSE 
must release the student’s name and other relevant student information in a report to the 
appropriate public agency(ies), upon the request of such agency(ies), for purposes of 
determining appropriateness of an adult program for the student. 
 
 Please note, Chapter 428 did not change the requirement that if a CSE is notified that 
the public agency that received the report is not responsible for determining and 
recommending adult services for the student, the CSE must refer the student to another 
public agency.  In addition, in the event that there is a dispute as to which public agency has 
responsibility for determining and recommending adult services for the student, the CSE can 
refer the report to the Council on Children and Families (http://ccf.ny.gov/) for resolution of 
the dispute. 
 
Plans and Policies for Appropriate Declassification 
 
 Chapter 428 amended Education Law section 4402 to eliminate the requirement that 
boards of education develop plans and policies for appropriate declassification of students 
with disabilities.  However, consistent with federal and State requirements, committees on 
preschool special education (CPSEs)/CSEs must still meet at least annually (i.e., annual 
review) to determine a student’s continuing eligibility for special education services.  In 
addition, all students with disabilities must continue to receive a reevaluation prior to a 
recommendation for declassification. 
 
 The Department is accepting public comment on the proposed amendment.  Written 
comment may be submitted on or before December 3, 2018 to: Christopher Suriano, 
Assistant Commissioner, Office of Special Education, 89 Washington Avenue, Room 309 

http://ccf.ny.gov/
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EB, Albany, NY 12234, Attention:  Public Comment - Proposed Amendment Chapter 428.  
Comments may also be e-mailed to spedpubliccomment@nysed.gov or faxed to 518-473-
5387. 
 
 Questions regarding this memorandum may be directed to the Office of Special 
Education Policy Unit at 518-473-2878 or SPECED@nysed.gov. 
 
Attachment - Chapter 428 of the Laws of 2017 
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LAWS OF NEW YORK, 2017 

  

                                  CHAPTER 428 

  

   AN  ACT  to  amend  the education law, in relation to referrals to state 

     adult service agencies for certain students with disabilities who have 

     reached the age of 18; and to repeal clause (d-2) of subparagraph 3 of 

     paragraph b of subdivision 1 of section  4402  of  the  education  law 

     relating to the requirement that boards of education develop plans and 

     policies  for  appropriate declassification of students with disabili- 

     ties 

  

      Became a law November 29, 2017, with the approval of the Governor. 

            Passed by a majority vote, three-fifths being present. 

  

     The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and  Assem- 

   bly, do enact as follows: 

  

     Section  1.   Subparagraphs 5 and 7 of paragraph b of subdivision 1 of 

   section 4402 of the education law, subparagraph 5 as amended by  chapter 

   256  of the laws of 1988 and subparagraph 7 as amended by chapter 194 of 

   the laws of 1991, are amended to read as follows: 

     (5) The committee on special education or, in  the  case  of  a  state 

   operated  school,  the  multidisciplinary  team  shall  [provide written 

   notice that a child who is placed in those residential  programs  speci- 

   fied  in  paragraphs  d, g, h and l of subdivision two of section forty- 

   four hundred one of this article is not entitled to receive tuition free 

   educational services after the age of twenty-one, the receipt of a  high 

   school  diploma  or  the  time  described  in  subdivision  five of this 

   section. Such written notice shall be provided to the child and  to  the 

   parents  or legal guardian of such child when such child attains the age 

   of eighteen or, if such child is over the age of eighteen when placed in 

   such a residential program, at the time of  placement.  Upon  the  first 

   annual  review after the age of fifteen of a child who is receiving non- 

   residential special services or programs as specified in paragraph a, b, 

   c, d, e, f, i, j, l or  m  of  subdivision  two  of  section  forty-four 

   hundred  one  of  this  article,  or  is  receiving  special services or 

   programs in a day program at the human resources  school;  is  receiving 

   such  special  services or programs one hundred per centum of the school 

   day; is receiving individualized attention or  intervention  because  of 

   intensive  management  needs or a severe handicap; and, as determined by 

   the committee on special education or multidisciplinary team pursuant to 

   regulations promulgated by the commissioner,  may  need  adult  services 

   from  the  office  of  mental  health,  office of mental retardation and 

   developmental disabilities, the state department of social  services,  a 

   social services district, or the state education department, the commit- 

   tee  or  multidisciplinary  team shall provide to such child's parent or 

   guardian, and if such child is eighteen years of age or  older,  to  the 

   child, written notice that such child is not entitled to receive tuition 

   free  educational  services  after the receipt of a high school diploma, 

   the age of twenty-one or the time described in subdivision five of  this 

   section.]  not  later  than  the  annual  review prior to the eighteenth 

   birthday of a student with a disability who is placed in  a  residential 

  

   EXPLANATION--Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [ ] is old law 

                                to be omitted. 
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   program  by the committee or multidisciplinary team, or a student with a 

   disability who is placed in a day program but the committee or multidis- 

   ciplinary team has determined that the  student  is  likely  to  require 

   adult  residential services, with the consent of the parents, notify and 

   invite a representative of the  office  of  mental  health,  office  for 

   people  with  developmental disabilities, or the state education depart- 

   ment, as appropriate, to participate in the committee on special  educa- 

   tion  meeting for the development of a recommendation for adult services 

   pursuant to section 7.37 or 13.37 of the  mental  hygiene  law,  section 

   three  hundred  ninety-eight-c  of  the  social  services law or section 

   forty-four hundred three of this article. The committee  or  multidisci- 

   plinary  team shall give the parent or guardian of the child, the oppor- 

   tunity to consent in writing to the release of relevant  information  to 

   such  other  public  agency  or agencies, upon request of such agency or 

   agencies, for  purposes  of  determining  appropriateness  of  an  adult 

   program for such student. 

     (a) [Written notice given pursuant to this subparagraph shall describe 

   in  detail the opportunity to consent to have the child's name and other 

   relevant information forwarded in a report to the commissioner of mental 

   health, commissioner of mental retardation and  developmental  disabili- 

   ties,  commissioner of social services, or commissioner of education, or 

   their designees, for the purpose of determining whether such child  will 

   likely  need  adult  services  and,  if  so, recommending possible adult 

   services.] For the purposes of this subparagraph "relevant  information" 

   shall  be  defined  as that information in the possession of and used by 

   the committee or the multidisciplinary team to ascertain  the  physical, 

   mental,  emotional  and cultural-educational factors which contribute to 

   the [child's handicapping condition] student's disability, including but 

   not limited to: (i) results of physical and  psychological  examinations 

   performed  by  private and school district physicians and psychologists; 

   (ii) relevant information presented by the parent, guardian and teacher; 

   (iii) school data which bear on the [child's] student's progress includ- 

   ing  the  [child's]  student's  most  recent  individualized   education 

   program;  (iv)  results  of the most recent examinations and evaluations 

   performed pursuant to clause (d) of subparagraph  three  of  this  para- 

   graph;  and  (v)  results of other suitable evaluations and examinations 

   possessed by the committee or multidisciplinary team.  Nothing  in  this 

   subparagraph  shall be construed to require any committee or multidisci- 

   plinary team to perform any  examination  or  evaluation  not  otherwise 

   required by law. 

     (b)  Upon  consent  obtained pursuant to [clause (c) of] this subpara- 

   graph,  the  committee  or  multidisciplinary  team  shall  forward  the 

   [child's]  student's  name and other relevant information in a report to 

   the [commissioner of mental health, commissioner of  mental  retardation 

   and  developmental  disabilities,  commissioner  of  social services, or 

   commissioner of education, or their designees, for the development of  a 

   recommendation  for  adult services pursuant to section 7.37 or 13.37 of 

   the mental hygiene law, section  three  hundred  ninety-eight-c  of  the 

   social  services  law  or  subdivision ten of section forty-four hundred 

   three of this article. The] appropriate public agency as  determined  by 

   the  committee  or multidisciplinary team [shall determine which commis- 

   sioner shall receive the report by considering], based upon the [child's 

   handicapping  condition]  student's  disability  and  physical,  mental, 

   emotional  and social needs.  The committee shall forward additional and 

   updated relevant information to  the  [commissioner  of  mental  health, 

   commissioner  of  mental  retardation  and  developmental  disabilities, 
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   commmissioner of social services, or commissioner of education, or their 

   designees,] appropriate public agency upon the request for such informa- 

   tion by such [commissioner or designee] agency, with the consent of  the 

   parents, or the student, if such student is eighteen years or older. 

     (c) [Upon receipt of the notice by the child pursuant to this subpara- 

   graph,  the child, if eighteen years of age or older, shall be given the 

   opportunity to consent or withhold consent to the release of  the  rele- 

   vant  information. Such opportunity shall be given within twenty days of 

   the receipt of the notice. An appropriate member of  the  staff  of  the 

   educational  facility  shall be available to assist the child, if neces- 

   sary, to understand the contents of the notice and the need for  his  or 

   her  consent  for  the  release  of  the  relevant  information. A form, 

   prescribed by the commissioner, shall be  presented  to  the  child  for 

   response, which shall clearly set forth the options of giving consent or 

   withholding  consent.  In  the  event  that  the child exercises neither 

   option, and the designated member of the staff of the educational facil- 

   ity has reason to believe that the child may not be able  to  understand 

   the  purpose  of  the  form, or in the event that the child is less than 

   eighteen years of age, the committee on special education or the  multi- 

   disciplinary  team  shall  give  the parent or guardian of the child the 

   opportunity to consent in writing to the release of the relevant  infor- 

   mation.  Nothing in this clause shall be construed to be a determination 

   of the child's mental capacity. 

     (d)] When the committee or multidisciplinary team is notified  by  the 

   [commissioner  who]  public  agency  which received the report that such 

   state agency is not responsible for determining and  recommending  adult 

   services  for  the  child, the committee or multidisciplinary team shall 

   forward the report to another [commissioner] public agency; or,  if  the 

   committee  or  multidisciplinary  team  determines  that  there exists a 

   dispute as to which state agency has the responsibility for  determining 

   and recommending adult services, the committee or multidisciplinary team 

   may  forward  the  report  to the council on children and families for a 

   resolution of such dispute. 

     [(e) The committee and multidisciplinary team shall prepare and submit 

   an annual report to the state education department on or before  October 

   first of each year. Such annual report shall contain the number of cases 

   submitted  to  each  commissioner  pursuant to clause (b) or (d) of this 

   subparagraph, the  type  and  severity  of  the  handicapping  condition 

   involved  with each such case, the number of notices received which deny 

   responsibility for determining  and  recommending  adult  services,  and 

   other  information  necessary for the state education department and the 

   council on children and families to monitor the need for adult services. 

   Such annual report shall not contain individually  identifying  informa- 

   tion. The state education department shall forward a copy of such annual 

   report to the council on children and families. All information received 

   by  the  council  on children and families pursuant to this subparagraph 

   shall be subject to the confidentiality requirements of the department. 

     (f) For purposes of this  subparagraph,  the  term  "multidisciplinary 

   team"  refers  to  the  unit  which  operates  in lieu of a committee on 

   special education with respect to children in state operated schools. 

     (7)] (6) The committee on special education shall provide  a  copy  of 

   the  handbook  for  parents  of  children with [handicapping conditions] 

   disabilities established under subdivision eight of section  four  thou- 

   sand  four  hundred  three  of this article or a locally approved [hand- 

   icapped] booklet for  parents  of  children  with  disabilities  to  the 
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   cable after such child has been referred for evaluation to the committee 

   on special education. 

     § 2. Clause (d-2) of subparagraph 3 of paragraph b of subdivision 1 of 

   section 4402 of the education law is REPEALED. 

     § 3. This act shall take effect immediately. 

  

   The Legislature of the STATE OF NEW YORK ss: 

     Pursuant  to  the authority vested in us by section 70-b of the Public 

   Officers Law, we hereby jointly certify that  this  slip  copy  of  this 

   session law was printed under our direction and, in accordance with such 

   section, is entitled to be read into evidence. 

  

      JOHN J. FLANAGAN                                   CARL E. HEASTIE 

   Temporary President of the Senate                Speaker of the Assembly 

 


