Employer: The New York State Labor Law (articles 4 and 5), specifies your responsibilities as employer, sets procedures, specifies hours, and stipulates penalties which relate to the employment of this minor. Particular reference is made to section 14A of the Workmen's Compensation Law which provides double compensation and death benefits for minors unlawfully employed. Additional awards under this section are not covered by insurance and must be paid by the employer.

This certificate is not valid for a minor enrolled in secondary day school.

Minors 16 and 17 year of age may not be employed:

- A. After 12 midnight or before 6 a.m.,
- B. Generally more than 8 hours a day, 6 days in any week, for a maximum of 48 hours per week.

Minors 16 and 17 years of age may not be employed in certain hazardous occupations such as construction work, helper on a motor vehicle, operation of various kinds of power-driven machinery, and others listed in section 133 of the New York State Labor Law.

Minors may not be employed during the hours they are required to attend school.

Full-time Employment Certificate

Employer: Do not accept this certificate if it has been altered or defaced in any manner. Before accepting it, identify the minor presenting the certificate as the minor named thereon. File certificate (subject to inspection by lawful authority) at place of employment. Upon termination of minor's employment, return certificate to the minor or the issuing authority of the school whose name appears on the front of the certificate.