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NEW YORK STATE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

Student Support Services

Education Building, Room 318M

Albany, NY  12234

APPLICATION PROCESS FOR APPROVAL AS A PROVIDER OF COURSE WORK OR TRAINING IN SCHOOL VIOLENCE PREVENTION AND INTERVENTION

Enclosed is a packet of information for organizations that wish to become approved providers of course work or training in School Violence Prevention and Intervention.  The packet contains:

· Application for Approval as a Provider

· Instructions for Completing the Application

· Instructor Qualifications Form

· Provider Agreement

· Model Certification of Completion 

· List of Required Course Components

Return these forms with a 

· Course Outline or Syllabus

Please review these materials carefully.  There is no deadline for submission, but applications must be accompanied by supporting materials and a $600 application processing fee.

Completed Applications for Approval and Provider Agreements, including the fee of $600 made payable to the New York State Education Department, should be submitted to:

New York State Education Department

P. O. Box 7346

Albany, NY 12224

In considering whether to seek approval as a provider of the training in school violence prevention and intervention, it may be helpful to review the requirements of the law.  As you know, Chapter 181 of the Laws of 2000 established a new one-time requirement for individuals who apply for certification as teaching assistants, teachers, pupil personnel service professionals and school administrators.  These individuals must complete two hours of course work or training regarding school violence prevention and intervention.   The law states that all persons applying on or after February 2, 2001 for a certificate or license shall have completed two hours of course work or training in school violence prevention and intervention in addition to all the other certification or licensing requirements.

The course work or training must include information on the following:

· Study in the warning signs within a developmental and social context that relate to violence and other troubling behavior in students;

· Statutes, regulations and policies relating to a safe nonviolent school climate;

· Effective classroom management techniques and other academic supports that promote a nonviolent school climate and enhance learning;

· Integration of social and problem solving skill development for students within the regular curriculum;

· Intervention techniques designed to address a school violence situation; and

· Participation in an effective school/community referral process for students exhibiting violent behavior.

The law states that the course work or training must be obtained from an institution or provider that has been approved for that purpose by the State Education Department.  In February of 2001, the Board of Regents adopted Part 57-2 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education.  These implementing regulations become effective on March 1, 2001; they define the types of entities which are eligible to serve as providers of the training, and they establish the application procedures for approval.  Under these regulations, a provider must be one of the following:

· Teachers' or professional organization or association

· School district

· Board of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES)

· Nonpublic school

· Institution of higher education

· Hospital

· Health care facility

· Government agency or office

· Social service agency

· Any other organization whose purpose is the provision of course work in school violence prevention and instruction.

Please note that school districts, BOCES and institutions of higher education that offer registered programs leading to certification are exempt from the application process for the purpose of providing training only to their staff and students.  

To be approved as a provider, an eligible organization must submit acceptable evidence to the New York State Education Department that it has adequate resources (e.g., financial, physical, personnel) to offer the course work or training.  The competence of the instructors who will offer the training must be demonstrated by earned degrees, training, expertise and relevant experience.

A provider's authorization will not be limited to training one specific group or teaching in specified geographic areas; the term of approval is six years, with the possibility of renewal.  Providers are permitted to charge fees for the training.  The Department requires that a sample Certification of Completion form be submitted by each provider to be kept on file at the State Education Department; providers may copy and use the attached Model of Certification of Completion.  The form must be used to verify each trainee's fulfillment of the law's requirements.
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