Educational Design and Technology

Grants and Awards

Grant and Awards Program Information

Beacon Society's Jan Stauber Grant
The Beacon Society's Jan Stauber Grant provides up to $500 to fund the development of a project that will introduce young people to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s stories about his famous fictional detective, Sherlock Holmes. U.S. and Canadian teachers, librarians, Sherlockian literary societies, and others are invited to apply for the Beacon Society's major funding project. The deadline for applications is May 1.

Google Science Fair
Google has launched its fifth annual global science fair, in which students between ages 13 and 18 are invited to submit projects that break new ground in science and solve real-world problems. The winner will receive a $50,000 scholarship from Google, among other prizes. Deadline for applications is May 19.

Dollar General: Youth Literacy Grants
Dollar General Youth Literacy Grants provide funding to schools, public libraries, and nonprofit organizations to help students who are below grade level or experiencing difficulty reading. Grant funding is provided to assist in implementing new or expanding existing literacy programs; purchasing new technology or equipment to support literacy initiatives; or purchasing books, materials or software for literacy programs. Maximum award: $4,000. Eligibility: schools, public libraries, and non-profit organizations. Deadline: May 21, 2015.

James Patterson’s $1.5 Million Pledge to Libraries
James Patterson announced plans to give away $1.25 million to school libraries. In partnership with Scholastic, Patterson will make individual donations of $1,000 to $10,000. The money can be used for books, reading programs, or technology and repairs. The Scholastic Reading Club has pledged to match each grant with bonus points that can be used for books and classroom materials. Librarians, teachers, administrators, or other interested parties can nominate a school library anywhere in the U.S. that serves students from pre-K through 12th grade. Applications are due May 31, 2015.

Teacher Grants from the NEA Foundation
Currently, the NEA offers grants in two categories, including “Student Achievement” and “Learning & Leadership." Both programs have a Feb. 1 deadline. Student Achievement grants are designed to help teachers engage students in critical thinking and problem solving in standards-based subject matter. Winning programs should also improve students' inquiry, self-paced learning, and critical reflection skills. The Learning & Leadership grants fund professional development experiences and collegiate study for educators. Prize: Grants range from $2,000 to $5,000. Deadline: June 1 and Oct. 15.

Wish You Well Foundation: Grants for Literacy
The Wish You Well Foundation's mission is to foster and promote the development and expansion of new and existing literacy and educational programs. Maximum award: $10,000. Eligibility: 501(c)3 organizations. Deadline: rolling.


Last Updated: April 15, 2015