Special Education

Information Related to the New York State Alternate Assessment (NYSAA)

This page provides information on the requirements relating to the NYSAA pursuant to the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).  NYSAA is part of the New York State (NYS) testing program that measures attainment of the State’s learning standards in the areas of English language arts (ELA), mathematics, and science for students with the most severe disabilities in grades 3-8 and high school.  The NYSAA in ELA, mathematics and science are assessed using the Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM) alternate assessment.  DLM is a computer-delivered adaptive assessment measuring a student's achievement of the State Standards in these subject areas at a reduced level of depth, breadth, and complexity.  This webpage provides information on NYS’s eligibility criteria to assist school districts and parents in determining the appropriate participation of students with severe disabilities in the NYSAA and on the impact a student’s participation in the NYSAA has on earning a NYS diploma. Information is also provided on ESSA’s 1.0 percent State-level cap on participation of students in an alternate assessment.  Please check this site often for additional resources and updated guidance.

New York State Alternate Assessment Universal Technical Assistance and Supports (Tier 1 Activities)

1.0 Percent State Cap on Students Participating in the New York State Alternate Assessment

ESSA Guidance and Regulations

Additional Resources:

Archived Resources:

Last Updated: October 5, 2021